RSS

Agent Query Connect Website

13 Jul

Finished novel. Yes.

Researched how to write a query letter. Done.

Wrote Query Letter (and rewrote and rewrote) Been there. Sent to Agent of my dreams and received a form letter response. (Dear Author, some intern has decided that your work does not meet the specific criteria we are seeking. This is a subjective business….bottom line. We are not interested. )

Sent to Agent suggested by friend. Dear Tina…your project is not what I am seeking. (Smiling from ear to ear at an actual response from someone who read my query.)

Now what? Putting on the big girl granny panties and reworking my letter again. I found a great website, not really romance related and iffy on being romance friendly, called wwAgentQueryconnect.com and signed up for some free peer to peer critique. I have only been on the site a couple of days, but it has been a great resource. Lots of actual samples, from real authors, and if you are like me, you can do some searching to find where their query started and then see the finished, polished work that landed them an agent.

I am taking the information I learned, the helpful feedback and working up a new letter. For me, one of the hardest things to determine is whether it is my story that turns and agent off or is it the level of writing on the query. Do they just not get it? Beta readers love it, total strangers ask to read more, but Agents pass. I may be worrying too soon, after all, four rejections is not all that many when I have talked to people who get that many every day.

 

We shall see. But for now, if you are where I am at, I would suggest checking this site out. And if your there, look me up and say hi.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
